Uncategorized

Creating a Vintage Nautical Shirt Dress- McCall’s 4769

M4769.jpg

There’s nothing that shouts vintage like a shirt dress! Here is my review of McCall’s 4769.

(Sorry first picture is blurry but at least it depicts pockets!)

Pattern Description: Shirt dress in two lengths with sleeve and contrast variations has side seam pockets; dress a, c, e, f shown with purchased belt. The above picture is view D but I omitted the fabric sash because it looked silly when I added it to the final product.

Pattern Sizing: I sewed a 10 top and a 14 bottom.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, exactly.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes- but attaching the collar was tricky and took me a long time to get it right. To help with the collar attachment, I referred to this blog’s  tutorial – http://pleasantviewschoolhouse.blogspot.com/2010/02/how-to-sew-lapel-collar-classic.html

It helped me, hopefully it could help you!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? The collar instructions could have been better and it’s a lot of buttons going down the front. I liked that the dress has pockets! I really love the gold buttons with anchors that I found – it definitely helps with the vintage nautical vibe.

Here’s a link to some very similar gold buttons on Amazon –

Retro Shiny Anchor Relief Metal Shank Buttons for Fashion Suits Coats (Gold / Gun Black, Pack of 6) (0.59 inches, Gold)

Fabric Used: A bottom weight polyester for the dress portion and a white gabardine for the trim.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I sewed view D but omitted a sash and/or belt.

Would you sew it again? Yes, I have already sewn it in a floral print.

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I believe it is now out of print but there are lots of other similar patterns from the major commercial pattern makers.

For example, McCall’s 6696 is a very similar currently in print pattern –

M6696_a

Conclusion: Nice dress that can have a vintage flair if desired. Perfect for everyday wear as well.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment